Paws Fur Effect

Well, things certainly haven’t been boring for us this past while.

Hubs has been getting steadilly more ill, starting with itchy skin and ending (quite dramatically) a week ago with an asthma attack. He suffered from asthma as a child, but after the age of five it had disappeared. So, long story short, after much panic and investigation at the local hospital, it turns out hubs is allergic to the dog. Allergic to the dog! We were both in a state of shock for the rest of the week, which in turn lead to R’s behaviour going downhill in terms of his anxiety and demand avoidance. Hubs visited two allergists, who both told him the same thing – if a dog allergy did not cause serious asthma attacks, it’s doable. Unfortunately for us, this is not mild. Hubs, who normally washes, walks and grooms the dog, has had to stay far away from him for fear of another attack. I, therefore, have took over the doggy duties, and am paying for it in pain thanks to my RA. My wrists are in tatters and my elbows feel like they are in a constant spasm. Also, I have been getting a lot of foot cramps in my right foot, which I didn’t realise was because I have been wearing slippers around the house and they are quite thin.

So anyway, we have to rehome our dog. I’m devastated. Hubs is completely distraught, too. But what can we do? Hubs is actually training to do triathlons and eventually an ironman. He’s been training for over a year now. So asthma is a bit of a pain in the arse when he is trying to run, cycle and swim six days a week and instead he is laying around trying to catch his breath no matter what medication he is prescribed. I have put out the word locally that we are looking for a new home for the dog, one where the owner will either have or have experience with, golden retrievers. No point in handing him over to someone who ‘thinks he’s cute’, then freaks out when s/he realises the amount of work involved. Goldens are amazing. Kind, affectionate, obedient and gentle. I mean, he manages to be around R all day every day, who is about as predictable as the weather, on his knees and not once has the dog stood on him, hurt him or done anything but love him. That’s pretty amazing if you ask me.

So whoever is lucky enough to have our beloved pup in their lives, I hope they treat him well, with all the love and care he deserves. I will miss him terribly, and it’s kind of worse at the moment because I know he will be gone someday soon but we have no idea when it will be. It’s a kind of horrible limbo.

2 thoughts on “Paws Fur Effect

  1. I wasn’t aware there was a word for when a kid refuses to do what they’re told…now I feel really smart that I can say, “demand avoidance.” I learn somethin’ everyday.

    So sorry you have to rehome your beloved dog…that’s pretty heartbreaking. 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hahah, glad I could help in any way! We are all pretty heartbroken over it but at the end of the day I would rather rehome the dog to a loving family than risk hub’s life, no matter how amazing the dog is!

      Like

Leave a Reply

