Keep On Keepin’ On

I apologise for the quiet once again. Unfortunately, my RA (rheumatoid arthritis) is in full scale flare at the moment and typing or even just picking up a pen is very difficult and painful. My GP has referred me to a rheumatologist however the waiting list is at least nine months! So, I’ve been fiddling with my diet, trying to get as much goodness into me as I can whilst also doing all the usual with R.

Speaking of R, we have had a major breakthrough on the potty ‘training’ front! As you know, R has a lot of major issues with his digestive system and it has lead to a difficult pattern of holding in his poop. Well, two weeks ago I asked him did he want to sit on his mini toilet and, much to my surprise, he said yes! He sat there happilly watching surprise eggs on YouTube until he did the deed. Not gonna lie, I had a happy cry when he wasn’t looking. I’m so, so proud of him. He has since gone several more times on his little toilet and although I know he is a long way off fully using the toilet, this is the first positive experience for him in his life!

Shifting back to RA – it sucks. Seriously sucks. I’m finding it very hard to do everyday things, and even harder to admit that and ask hubs for help. R needs lifting at certain times of day, like into the bath, on and off the toilet, and my wrists are very badly affected at the moment so it hurts. I feel helpless for the first time since R’s diagnosis and I don’t like it. I’ve always been able to see the light at the end of the tunnel so to speak, but RA is not something a pill or a dietary change can cure. In fact, a lot of the pills the doctors push for RA have scary side-effects. I’m not a fan of taking pharma drugs for ailments in general, let alone ones that list things like ulcers, liver damage and kidney failure as a possibility!

One of the biggest breakthroughs I have had regards to R’s behaviour was recognising when to intervene and when to just stay quiet and observe. Sometimes he’s in another room, and I can hear him getting more and more pissed off with a toy/the dog etc. He kind of rants to himself, for want of a better word! Anyway, I have found that most of the time if I go in there asking does he need any help, he’s ten times more likely to meltdown over said problem. If I stay put and listen, he’ll either get over it or come in to me and ask for help himself. Much nicer for all involved! Of course, where safety is concerned there’s no question I’m there and I’m interfering whether he likes it or not, but for the daily grind, sitting back and waiting is far more beneficial. I’m all for letting him work out his own problems unless he specifically asks me for help. R also has a habit of asking me questions all day about a particular thing, for example this morning he kept asking me if two model cars had the same bumpers. He knew they did – he’s asked me a thousand times before! But he always asks. Now, some people may say it’s him seeking reassurance. I thought so, in the beginning. But honestly, when I end up answering obvious questions 12 hours a day and he’s melting down if I don’t answer correctly, I draw that line. I’ve started asking him what does he think/why don’t you have a look and see etc. He got annoyed at first but I think he’s starting to get it. Mammy is not an automatic answering machine with only 7 buttons!

That’s all for now folks, my hands are killing me. Have a good one!

2 thoughts on “Keep On Keepin’ On

    • Hello and thank you for your kind words! I can totally empathise with you – it is very stressful at times but what else can we do but get on with it as best we can? Virtual hugs, and I look forward to following your journey 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

